Travis Barker: Give The Drummer Some

I never paid much attention to Blink 182, but had heard Travis Barker’s name from time to time.  The common thread in conversations was always how good of a drummer he is. I’m usually open to new music though, so I took a friend’s suggestion in giving his solo CD a listen.  And oh was I glad I did….

“Give the Drummer Some” is a hip hop inspired CD with Travis Barker on the drums for every track.  It’s a compilation filled with various artists, much like Timbaland’s Shock Value series…..and gives them both a run for their money.  I like almost every track on the CD.  Some of the guest features include Ludacris, E-40, Swizz Beats, Lil John and The Clipse.  I’m surprised I haven’t heard more publicity on this CD because there’s some great music here.

Some of my favorite tracks are “Can A Drummer Get Some”, “If You Want To”, “Knockin’”, and “Devil’s Got A Hold” (the drum solo on the beginning of this one is awesome).  If you like Hip Hop and some jammin’ drum solos, this is the CD for you!

Leave a Reply

