Tattoos: Permanent Ink…Physically, Mentally, and Spiritually

Ok, so lately, I’ve been seriously thinking about getting a tattoo. Not quite sure what I would get, but I do have a few ideas in mind. I know, I know….you’re probably thinking, “How do you know you want a tattoo but don’t know what you will get!?” LOL. I don’t even understand it myself sometimes. Maybe it’s just a phase that will pass and I won’t even want it eventually.

It’s funny how when your mind is focused on one thing, you seem to be drawn to noticing it. When I first got my car back in 2007, it seemed like everybody on the road had the same car I did. But in reality, it was just that my mind was keener to that type of car since I now owned one. It’s the same with tattoos. It seems like I notice them more now and everybody has one. I saw someone the other day that had the Ralph Lauren logo tattooed on their leg. I thought to myself, “Really???? Is it that serious to put a company’s logo on your body?” That was so hilarious to me because I couldn’t imagine what prompted them to get that…I guess a love for Ralph Lauren clothes…I don’t know.

I also thought about how we can have invisible tattoos as well. I have a poem on my site called “Tattoo” that also discusses this. If you haven’t read it, make sure you check it out. An invisible tattoo can be a thought, a person’s impact, or a fond memory that we will forever keep in our minds. But how do these invisible tattoos look? If they’re beautiful and intricate, we should focus on them and use that as positive energy to keep moving forward. But if they’re worthless (kinda like that Ralph Lauren tattoo I saw), then we need to find a way to get them removed. Those kinds of thoughts and memories will only keep us in bondage and drown out our quality of life.

So what do you think about tattoos? Are they wrong to get (technically the Bible speaks against them) or is it just harmless body art? And more importantly, what kind of invisible tattoos are we permanently etching into our lives?

5 thoughts on “Tattoos: Permanent Ink…Physically, Mentally, and Spiritually

  1. My thoughts on tattoos…. not wrong to desire / obtain , but better yet, to what avail?? If you must have one, I would suggest something very small, in a nonconspicuous place… (No! Not there!!) a place like the upper arm or upper leg; a place that will never be seen in a professional setting, nor in most casual settings (casual settings can be and too often are professional settings in disguise).

    Your body is your temple… you know the rest.

    With regard to the invisible tattoos; I think everybody has them, just like the visible ones, some more plentiful than others. The only difference by comparison, is that the visible ones,, we almost always choose to apply, whereas the invisible ones, they most often choose the body that they will adhere to!! Knowing this, it is left up to the individual to decide how they wish to display their tattoos.

  2. LOL! I agree and I was actually thinking about getting it on my upper arm. And that is true about your body being your temple. On the invisible tattoos, that’s very profound. We don’t always get a chance to choose which ones adhere to us. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Don’t get a tat if i were you, thus being is because I got one and regret it for the rest of my life. The bible speaks to you this way cause of that reason and the reason is simply this:Like you said it is spiritually,emotionally draining.

  4. I’m really interested in learning about you and your writing, so feel free to leave comments on mine. I followed you because you seem like an interesting character. If you would like to check in on me just remember to read the writing as a way of healing first before you read the other bios. thanks Another thing: Nice piece of work. I congrats on you. Never thought of that one. lol

  5. Thanks for the advice and for checking out my page! I see your point and I’m still a little on the fence about it but haven’t fully decided yet. Thanks for the kind words as well and I will be sure to check out your page too.

Leave a Reply

