Why I Love Muscle Milk

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A little over 2 years ago, I was about 45 pounds heavier than I am now and have gradually lost and maintained my weight. I must admit though, I’m still working on getting back to where I was before the holidays, lol (the good food was well worth it though). Nevermind that I was just on a Twitter rant talking about how I can eat ice cream all year round, lol.

Everybody is different and what works for you may not work for someone else. But one of the things I discovered that I still use to this day is Muscle Milk. For those that don’t know, it’s a protein that you can buy in a powder form or ready to drink. If you make it right, it tastes just like a milkshake. I buy Muscle Milk Light and add Almond or Coconut Soy Milk (I don’t like regular milk and this stuff is so good, I’ll drink it straight) and frozen fruit (usually peaches, mangos and strawberries) and blend it up. It’s a really quick breakfast or meal replacement and it fills you up. The only downfall to Muscle Milk (and any protein) is you still have to eat right and remember you are drinking a meal. If you decide to snack heavily after drinking it, then you’ll defeat the purpose.

Here are 3 reasons why I love Muscle Milk:

Great Taste

Most protein powders have a chalky and gritty taste, but not Muscle Milk. It has a smooth texture and while give the Vanilla shake on Steak and Shake’s menu a run for their money.

Very Filling

Don’t get me wrong, I still have room to eat after I make my Muscle Milk smoothie, lol. But when I’m able to control myself, I realize I actually stay full for about 3 hours afterwards.

It’s Good For You

Just one scoop of Muscle Milk (this is the Light version I’m quoting) has 12 grams of Protein, 6 grams of carbs and only 100 calories. So for about 300 calories total, you can make your own smoothie with milk and fruit. Not only do you have something that tastes good and boosts your workouts, but it’s good for you too.

Has anyone out there tried a better protein supplement?

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Muscle Milk

  1. Re: Muscle Milk – Muscle Milk is solid, but I’ve been using MyoFusion, and am looking into Herbalife.
    Conventional wisdom seems to say that in order to build and maintain that lean muscle mass, you have to eat tons and tons of chicken breast and turkey breast. That gets old, so it’s good to have a quality whey protein to fall back on for variety.

Leave a Reply

