PJ Morton’s Maroon Young Money

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love music. Anyone that knows me will tell you this too. What some people may not know is Maroon 5 is one of my favorite groups.  In my opinion, It Won’t Be Soon Before Long is their best work, but I love pretty much all of their music. I’ve seen them in concert twice and the second time I saw them last year, I noticed there seemed to be a change in the lineup. Something was different. A new guy had seemed to join the group, but I couldn’t put my finger on who it was….

Come to find out, it was Grammy Award winning songwriter, singer and producer PJ Morton (son of Bishop Paul Morton, Sr). I have his CD Walk Alone and there are some very nice tracks on there (check out his song “Love You More” featuring Tweet). I’ve been wondering if he was going to make any new music because I haven’t heard much from him lately. I hadn’t heard much of his own music before (his early roots stem from gospel music) Walk Alone, but it’s actually his fifth independent release. He’s currently gearing up for his first major label release….with Young Money Records. Yep, you heard right….and you may even be scratching your head on this by now. You can listen to his current single “Built For Love” featuring Jazmine Sullivan on his website http://pjmortononline.com/. If the single is any indication of how his new CD will sound, I’m anxious to hear it.

But does anybody know exactly when and how he got in Maroon 5? Or why that decision was made for him to join the group? I actually think it could be a great gain for both parties involved, but can’t figure out if this is just a temporary tour lineup or a permanent lineup.  I’ve seen some billings that state Maroon 5 featuring PJ Morton and others that just state Maroon 5. Apparently, Maroon 5 is aware and congratulated of his recent signing with Young Money. In the meantime you can also check out this charity song, “Is Anybody Out There?” that PJ Morton and Maroon 5 recorded in London last year…in just 24 hours.

Maroon 5 Featuring PJ Morton – “Is Anybody Out There?”

It will be interesting to see what happens with this in the future. Will PJ Morton continue to work with Maroon 5 and still promote his new CD? What are your thoughts about it?

2 thoughts on “PJ Morton’s Maroon Young Money

  1. I LOVE music as well…must run in the family. I am a fan of PJ Morton also, and I am not sure how and why he went through all these changes, but I still love him just the same. Did you know that he will be touring in Houston and Dallas this year? I haven’t found out the dates yet though!

    Oh, and seeing that I also a fan of Jazmine Sullivan, I LOVE that song “Built For Love”.

  2. Yes, it must be a part of our genes, lol! Yeah I think he has some really great music too. No I didn’t know that! But after I read your comment, I researched it and he will be in H Town on April 4th and Dallas on April 5th. Thanks for the heads up! I’m definitely going to try and make it. Yes, “Built for Love” is the jam….has kind of an old school, jazz feel to it. I’m a big fan of Jazmine Sullivan too! Thanks for checking out the post!

Leave a Reply

