Forgo Forgiveness

I haven’t shared a poem with everyone in a few weeks, so here’s one I just wrote tonight on forgiveness. My first time ever writing specifically on this topic. Let me know what you think….it’s called “Forgo Forgiveness”

I’m going to forgo forgiving you

It takes too much energy to smile and

Fake and laugh in your face

And take a deep breath…

When I really want to punch you

Like the poster child of

Every blood boiling moment

I’ve ever had rolled into one…fist

Make that two

When I think of you

I’m forgoing forgiving you

My stomach churns just to look at you

And the sweetest medicine  

Is watching you suffer

Oh don’t look at me and point your fingers

Many of you bathe in this same acid

The ph balance of your soul is off kilter

So when you cleanse your self

And make it out unscathed

Then come tell your truth

Until then I’ll forgo forgiving you too

Oblivious to the fact that you’ve moved on

While I’m still stuck here holding

On to jagged, crusty edges of memories

That only pierce my existence

Until I resemble a honey comb

Holy, but not full of praise

You are worthy and I am out of place

Out of touch with reality

And missing the clear picture

Forgiveness ain’t all about the listener

We must not forgo the element

That pertains to the speaker

 

10 thoughts on “Forgo Forgiveness

  1. Marvelous! Bravado! Forgo Forgiveness is yet another piece of awesome, soul-stirring, thought-provoking literary work from the master himself!! How do you come up with all of these in-depth thoughts??? Fantastic!!!

  2. Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate the kind words and I’m truly honored!! This one was sparked from something not as large as the poem seems, but I just took the idea and ran with it. Thanks again!

  3. Not necessarily…but it’s saying that they should be because forgiveness releases us and not the other person. In the beginning and middle of the poem, I’m talking about the raw emotions we can we have with forgiveness…a lot of time, forgiving someone is the last thing on your mind when you’re mad….at least with me it is. But holding grudges only hurts us in the end, not who we’re mad at. Thanks for checking it out!

Leave a Reply

