Round 2: Mama Said Knock You Out!

Quick! Think of 5 things that are always easier to knock out the second time around….

Here are my 5:

  • Public Speaking
  • Cooking
  • Making a big purchase (car, house, etc)
  • Lying (sad, but true…lol)
  • Writing a book???
Today, I want to focus in on the last bullet point. For those of you who have followed my blog for a while, or know me personally, then you know I’ve released a poetry book called Blurred Vision. The concept was in my mind for a few years, but I just published the book last year. I didn’t go through a publisher and, other than the sometimes mentally strenuous legwork of self promotion, I like it this way. Too many cooks in the kitchen often cause confusion on the recipe and leaves you with nothing to eat when all is said and done. Many people who have published through a company will tell you that often times, your profit is much less than what you’re selling your book for. But what do you do? Wait for the right company to come along (and hope they don’t rip you off) or take your dreams into your own hands?
I’m currently working on my second book, which will deviate slightly from the format of my first book. Since I’ve done this once before, seems like it would be easier this time right? Eh, not so much…sure I know where to go for an ISBN, copyrighting my work, etc but the creative process is almost like starting from scratch. Not only that, but the pressure is greater. Usually, when you do something for the first time there are no expectations. But the second time has extra weight because you want to match (and exceed) what was previously accomplished the first time.
But is there a real formula for success? What is success? I hear so many definitions of the word and in my opinion most people equate success with something tangible or monetary gain. But what about a successful mindset? I think you can have all the material possessions in the world and be considered successful by society’s view….and still be miserable. I see people like this all the time. I say all of this to say, if you have a dream…GO FOR IT!! Speaking from personal experience, there is no greater joy than gaining the fulfillment of what you want out of life. Could you fail? YEP. Could you succeed? YES! For every negative outcome, there is room for a positive one. I will be transparent and admit that I am nervous about releasing my second book. But I’m NOT going to let that stop me.  I’m putting it out there today and giving everyone reading this permission to hold me accountable. My book will be released by this time next year.
Your dream may not be publishing your own book, but you have a passion for something. Whatever it is, find it (if you don’t already know what it is), own it and drive it! No one can steer your destiny like you can (outside of God).
What are some dreams/goals you have set out to accomplish in the near or far future? How do you plan on getting there?
And oh yeah, if you haven’t picked up my book yet, get your copy of Blurred Vision today!

2 thoughts on “Round 2: Mama Said Knock You Out!

  1. Amen!!! I am anxiously but patiently awaiting the release of your second book, in your own predetermined space and time! And remember, “Every round goes higher and higher”!!

Leave a Reply

