Usher: The Climax of Looking 4 Myself


Usher Raymond. He’s had a slew of hits including “You Make Me Wanna”, “You Got It Bad”, “Yeah” and “Confessions”. The later song and album of the same name, peaked during a time where the singer’s personal life was thrust into the public eye. He was in a very high-profile relationship with Chilli and they seemed to be the perfect couple. That is until his…ahem, “confession” of infidelity. Both parties have since gone on record to say that the CD is in no way, shape or form in reference to their relationship. But going on the chronological events that took place, you can’t help but wonder if his life and lyrics weren’t “Caught Up” so to speak with each other.  Ironically as Usher became more exposed to the negative rays of the flashing lights of fame, Confessions achieved Diamond status (over 10 million albums sold in the US). Just goes to show that little drama mixed with good music is a good formula for success.

Since then, Usher has married and now divorced his ex-wife, Tameka Foster. Still no stranger to drama, he’s currently going through a strenuous custody battle with her over their 2 sons, complete with bitterness of the ex-wife over a new girlfriend/manager of a pop star.  SMH….the plot thickens. Conveniently for him, Usher happens to also be releasing his new CD, Looking 4 Myself. While Usher tries to find himself, will fans be removing his CD from the shelves tomorrow for the official release date. Time (and Soundscan) will tell…but, there has been some promising radio singles released already, in support of the new album. Here’s my two cents on what we’ve heard so far.


Is it just me or am I the only one that thinks this song sounds like Janet Jackson’s “Funny How Time Flies”? Somehow it has the same vibe to me. But I digress. This is a smooth track (the best one production wise of the songs I’ve heard), with interesting lyrics, that isn’t about what the title may have suggested. The lyrics speak of a failed relationship, and the crossroads of decisions to be made. I don’t see this being a major hit, but it’s a nice transition for him back into ballads. Guess this one isn’t about his personal life either.


Honestly, I’m a little tired of this style of music. You know, that “Rihanna techno” craze. I say that because she has seemed to profit the most from it recently. This is a club track that boasts there will be plenty screams in the bedroom over a thumping bass line. I must admit, the song is catchy, and probably will be a big hit. Nothing innovative here though. I was expecting a little more. Rihanna, jump out the closet and start singing anytime now…

Lemme See Feat. Rick Ross

The beat here is rough, but enticing at the same time. Think “Lil Freak” toned down. This song paints a club scene that basically goes like this: Guy meets girl in club. Flirting back and forth. Girl says what she can do to guy. Guy says show me better than you can tell me. Nothing spectacular either here lyrically, but Rick Ross was a great choice for the feature on this mellow track. This song will cater to his R & B fans, and has a gritty edge to it.

So, the question is, will you be buying Looking 4 Myself when it hits stores tomorrow, or will you be looking elsewhere for great music? How do you think this CD will fare on the charts compared to his previous work?  Here’s the official track listing for the album:

1. “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop”
2. “Scream”
3. “Climax”
4. “I Care for U”
5. “Show Me”
6. “Lemme See” feat. Rick Ross
7. “Twisted” feat. Pharrell Williams
8. “Dive”
9. “What Happened to U”
10. “Looking 4 Myself” feat. Luke Steele
11. “Numb”
12. “Lessons for the Lover”
13. “Sins of My Father”
14. “Euphoria”

Deluxe Edition (Features 4 additional tracks)
15. “I.F.U.”
16. “Say the Words”
17. “2nd Round”
18. “Hot Thing”

4 thoughts on “Usher: The Climax of Looking 4 Myself

  1. Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  2. I am going to play devil’s advocate and say that I love the album! Except for two tracks, this album is playthrough for me. When he says Lookin 4 Myself, I think he means through it all, he is trying to get back to the simplest form of happiness. Through the relationships, the failed attempts in his personal life, the divorce, the acceptance of age, this is what it is. And he has definitely crossed over to a more broader audience, so the album lends itself to both fan bases. Scream is for that base….. I am a stan for Usher because I don’t think there is any other male artist that can blend voice with dance so well. Check this out as well. This is live from London…..

  3. I got a chance to listen to the whole thing and I like this CD. I like his last one better though and Confessions is still my favorite. But like you said, I think he’s catering to a broader fan base now…which is good and bad in a way. There’s not much real R & B here, but more of a Techno/Pop feel. My favorite songs on here are Climax, Lemme See, Hot Thing, I.F.U., Sins of My Father and I Care For U.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s