Pull Back Therapy

It’s funny how we learn the best life lessons through some of our greatest hurts. Recently I’ve been experiencing some severe back pain (largely due to injuring myself playing drums in the marching band in high school). I used to think people who complained about back pain were being over-dramatic…until it happened to me.  Long story short, I’ve been going to a chiropractor off on for about a year. My back never bothered me that much until the last 3 years or so. So far, the best remedy for my pain and healing has been getting a decompression. It hurts a little bit, but feels cool at the same time. You lay face down on the table and get strapped into all of these pads that wrap around your midsection and lower back. The pads are attached to cables that are hooked to a machine that pulls and stretches your back. The machine pulls your lower back towards your feet. Little did I know how this simple machine would tie in to everyday life.

Just like that decompression machine, we have to find a way to plug into something that unwinds us. Life can wind you up so tightly that it begins to manifest itself in your body, your appearance and even your attitude. Maybe it’s a stressful job that keeps you on edge. Maybe it’s harboring built up resentment towards someone who doesn’t even know you’re mad at them. Or maybe it’s pulling away from a person who’s really not in your corner. The thing about decompression (or pulling back), is the more you try to hold on, the greater your chance is for pain . The scary part is often times we don’t realize the effect that stress, anger, volatile relationships, and hot tempers have on us….until it’s far too late.

Sometimes you just have to pull back from obligations, people and more importantly, even yourself. Why do I mention pulling yourself back? It’s simple. No one will ever be more critical of you than yourself. But we often are selective in how we place that criticism. The average person can become their own worst critic when it comes to their physical appearance and over commitment levels. But how many of us are able to be self-reflective enough to pull back in an unhealthy relationship? Or maybe pulling back from addictions that ruin our lives? We want to throw pity parties and invite everyone over to tell them how we’ve been mistreated. But, in reality, we’ve done ourselves wrong by carrying pain that was never meant for us to bear. The more you allow situations and people to wind you up, the more uptight you become, the more pain you experience and the cycle goes on and on.

So what do you need to pull back from? I know for me, I’m working on pulling back from my stubbornness. Although it has kept me out of danger in some instances, it has also hindered me. Take my back for instance. If I had done a little “pull back therapy” and gotten my ailments checked out by a doctor in high school, I may be in a better place now with my back issues. I have many things I’m working on, as I’m sure we all do. Let’s all commit to a little pull back therapy today. It’s the best form of preventative care there is.

8 thoughts on “Pull Back Therapy

  1. I smile every time I read anything off yours! Excellent blog today! We all need Pull Back Therapy…the one that comes toindia for me is my eating habits! I need to pull back from the table! Ha!

  2. *had a few errors in my post…typing on phone…anyhow, I wasn’t speaking a new language…just typos.

  3. I need to exercise “Pull Back Therapy” in giving too much to people that cannot appreciate the whole gift!! But, I am slowly getting better…redirecting, by keeping more for those that appreciate it all and ‘pulling back’ from those that do not! Love it… well said, WM!!

Leave a Reply

