Jesus Take The Wheel

Saturday, August 25, 2012. This is a day I will never forget. My girlfriend and I were just heading from my frat brother’s wedding.  Approximately 9:15 pm. We were talking and having normal conversation and then….BOOM!! That’s when it hit. The time is approximately 9:30 pm now. A vehicle hits my driver’s side front tire but it feels like they hit my driver’s side door head on. Keep in mind the flow of traffic right now is about 70 mph. The car spins and slams into another vehicle on the front passenger side. Spins one more time and then hits the same vehicle again on the back passenger side. As I begin to lose control of the wheel, so many thoughts are zooming through my head. Why is this happening? Is this the end? Will we be able to walk away from this?

As I slam on the breaks, finally everything stops. Wait…the passenger side door is now facing oncoming traffic. We jump out before the cars continue to gain momentum. The time is now approximately 9:35 pm. 3 cars involved at the scene. No one seriously hurt or injured. At that moment, I was too shocked to really know what to feel, but I definitely knew I was grateful that nothing fatal or serious happened. You can replace cars and material things, but you can’t replace people. It’s amazing how relevant the old saying “changed in the blink of an eye” is when you can apply it to your own life.

Almost a week after the accident, I have been focusing on the importance of not sweating the small stuff. And honestly, many of the big things I had been worrying about were small things compared to this. Your loved ones, family, friends, etc. are what matters most. We waste so much time arguing with people we say we love, treating strangers badly and holding grudges against people who have long gone moved on from that situation. All the while, we forget one simple thing: Time is not on our side. We don’t know when our time is up or when our lives can be instantly altered. We may not get a chance to fix those hurtful words we said or bad deeds we’ve done. So while we have it, isn’t it wise to make the best of it?

Disclaimer: I didn’t write this blog to gain any sympathy. I’ve already received grace by being able to walk away from it and honestly that is more than I could ask for. Plus, I’m usually not a fan of putting personal business on the Internet. But this is just a real life example of how quickly our lives can change (or have the potential to change). Jesus took the wheel on August 25, 2012 at approximately 9:30 pm. And I’m so glad He did!

14 thoughts on “Jesus Take The Wheel

  1. Carlos, praise God…… praise God. So thankful you and your love are okay, my beautiful friend. Great post and message. Cherish The Now and your priceless blessings. Thank you. ❤

  2. If in GOD we trust, what is there to fear? Enjoy every moment, as life is precious. This you have discovered. Fear not and carry on helping others to understand.

    May your GOD be with you always

    Love to all.

    • MD, thank you for checking out today’s post. I think fear is natural for us all, but you’re right, when we trust God there is less of that. Thanks for leaving your thoughts. I felt like this was something that needed to be shared.

  3. First…soooooo glad Jesus took the wheel!
    Second…I love you both!
    Third…I have always liked that song. 🙂

    Keep writing my friend! 🙂

  4. As the tears of joy flowed when I had only read the title…and again, once I read the blog; yes, this definitely is something that needs to be shared with as many as would read it!! God uses us in such mysterious but awesome ways!!!! And OMG, how He has used you to spread His message of truth, while being a living, breathing, loving example of His omnipotence!! What an awesome post!! Thanks for sharing this with the world…I am confident that God would have it no other way!! I love you, dearly!!!!

  5. Thank you Jesus for Grace and Mercy!!! I am thankful to god fir giving you another chance. Love you cousin

  6. wHEN YOU BELIEVE IN GOD.HE HAS HIS HAND OF FAITH AROUND HIS PEOPLE THAT IS HIS WAY OF EXPRESSING HIS LOVE.

Leave a Reply

