Has Alicia Keys Lost Her Fire?

It’s hard to believe that Alicia Keys has only released  four CDs to date since 2001. She basically blew up over night with her first single, “Fallin”, and hasn’t looked back since. My personal favorite CD of hers is her second release, The Diary of Alicia Keys. I can pretty much listen to that CD straight through without skipping any tracks. Her album sales after that period have reflected that maybe other fans feel the same way too.

In the next few months leading up to the release of Girl On Fire, Alicia Keys will be on a media frenzy, including a spot on VH1’s Storytellers, a commercial with Citibank that features “Girl On Fire”, and a new Reebok Classics- Freestyle Hi line. Her husband, producer Swizz Beatz, is the Creative Director for Reebok Classics and now Alicia Keys will be releasing her own line, personally designed by her. It will be interesting to see how her new CD will fare on the charts, considering its release date of November 27, 2012. The Thanksgiving week is usually packed with several high-profile music releases, although she does have the Black Friday push on her side. She says she came up with the album’s title because she “felt like a lion in like a lion locked in a cage…I felt like a girl misunderstood that no one really knew, I felt like it was time to stop making excuses for any part of my life that I wanted to change. Once I made that choice I became a Girl on Fire, the lion broke free!!” Hmmm…ok.

Back in June, she released an Instagram photo of her new short hair cut. Then there was last week’s performance at the 2012 MTV Video Music Awards. Even though I enjoyed her performance (and guest appearances from Nicki Minaj and Gabby Douglas), I was left wanting more. I honestly enjoyed P!nk and Rihanna’s performances more. Nonetheless, I do enjoy the song (it needs to grow on me more though) and she sounded great, as always. But  just in case you thought her first single and title cut from Girl On Fire only had one version, think again. Last Tuesday, she tweeted, “”Surprise! #GirlOnFire was so hot I made 3 versions! part of a #girlonfire suite I’ll give U 2 of 3 now 😉 Do U have a fav?….”

Check out the Inferno and Blue Light versions of “Girl On Fire” above. Which one do you like better? Don’t forget to vote on your favorite one on the poll below.

***Stay tuned this evening for my reviews on 2 new songs from an artists who’s been MIA for quite some time***

One thought on “Has Alicia Keys Lost Her Fire?

  1. Speaking of transformations … Halle Berry’s new role in Cloud Atlas from the makers of The Matrix has her doing some gender and race bending. http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/halle-berry-xun-zhou-racially-transform-cloud-atlas-192252393.html

    The irony of all this is that they are making a huge deal about her being put in make and portraying a white woman when technically she is a white woman. (btw…so was Alicia Keys) I say this because her mother is white. I often see the talk about Obama being this black man, when he was obviously raised by white people. *This is no slight to any other race but honestly as black people we cannot deny who we are, but should we forget about the other side ourselves, just because we happen to be half black?

    *I am not bi-racial but these are the things that I wonder.

    I’m so curious to know what you think.

Leave a Reply

