#ShutYourMouth

“Obama is 666….He’s just Satan”. Can you guess if this is a personal opinion of mine or not? Wait, what about this quote? “Someone needs to assassinate Obama…like ASAP #DieYouPieceOfSh&t”. Hopefully by now you now that I didn’t say either of these quotes. Chances are you may have heard the latter one, as it was tweeted by Ohio teen Alyssa Douglas. After many retweets with comments of followers wondering what the heck with her, she may actually be facing jail time. I can’t say that I’m happy to hear this, but I also don’t understand what would make people say such cruel things either. Now, let’s get back to the first quote. This one hit a little closer to home. I was sitting at the chiropractor’s office, as one of the patients went on a 15 minute rant including the quote mentioned above and many other comments I’d rather not repeat. And what’s worse is one of the employees was agreeing with her…SMH.

Is this about politics? No. Did I write this blog for a debate against Obama vs. Romney? No.  Most people who know me know that I’m not even heavily involved in politics. I do have my stance on certain issues and yes I will be voting. But I don’t waste time arguing with people or shoving my views down their throat. What I don’t understand about people in general is why they feel the need to share their opinions with their world. People don’t want to hear everything we have to say, let alone the things we should keep at home. Believe me, I have nearly hated several people in my life time (not proud of it), but if I did hate somebody, I would not make that knowledge to the general public. And furthermore, how can you have that much hatred in your heart towards someone you technically don’t even know? In my opinion, if you’re capable of hating a public figure, entertainer, or stranger, than you’re capable of hating me more. And that’s someone I would want to have no dealings with.

I must admit, it took a lot for me to sit there and hold my tongue at the chiropractor’s office this week when I heard all of those nasty comments about President Obama. I wanted to just tell them to the shut their mouths, and not exactly in those words.  Now go and tweet that, lol. But in all seriousness, we should all watch the things that we say in public about other people, especially when it’s something negative. And on top of that, it’s one thing to say dirty and treacherous things about people, but it’s another thing when we listen and entertain it. As I’m writing this, I’m getting heated all over again, but this is just a quick reminder that we should all (including me) watch what we say, how we say it, and who we say it to.

What are some things you hear people say that really tick you off?

6 thoughts on “#ShutYourMouth

  1. I do everything in my power to avoid talking politics. Also, what we say about others usually says more about us than our intended target, as your post well illustrates.

  2. Great post! I too try to avoid talking politics. I think people take things too far and sound more ignorant then necessary, like your title indicates “Shut your mouth” LOL

  3. It’s funny though… The political race is often what breeds much of this negative talk, and it trickles down to the #TwitterHashtags …

Leave a Reply

